Ansonia joins the rest of the Lower Naugatuck Valley in sharing the distinct honor of an "All-America City" title. This prestigious award came in 2000 after tireless efforts from a massive number of community-oriented individuals. Proudly, we refer to our geographical area and its residents as the "All American Valley."
Appalachian Trail Conference
PO Box 807, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425. Phone: (304) 535-6331. The Appalachian National Scenic Trail is a 2,167-mile (3,488 km) footpath along the ridge crests and across the major valleys of the Appalachian Mountains from Katahdin in Maine to Springer Mountain in north Georgia. The trail traverses Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, North Carolina and Georgia. The Appalachian Trail (A.T.) is used by day, weekend and other short-term hikers, section hikers and thru-hikers. Thru-hikers hike the entire length of the Trail in one season. The A.T. began as a vision of forester Benton MacKaye, and was developed by volunteers and opened as a continuous trail in 1937. It was designated as the first National Scenic Trail by the National Trails System Act of 1968. The Trail is currently protected along more than 99 percent of its course by federal or state ownership of the land or by rights-of-way. Annually, more than 4,000 volunteers contribute over 175,000 hours of effort on the Appalachian Trail. The Trail has more than 500 access points.
Barkhamsted is a town in Litchfield County, Connecticut and contains two villages, Pleasant Valley and Riverton. The town has a total area of 38.8 square miles (100.6 km²), of which 36.2 square miles (93.8 km²) is land and 2.6 square miles (6.8 km²) of it (6.72%) is water. A high percentage of the land in the town is owned by the State of Connecticut as state forest (People's State Forest and American Legion State Forest) and by the Metropolitan District Commission as watershed land. Major bodies of water include the Barkhamsted Reservoir, Lake McDonough, and the Farmington River.
Beacon Falls is one of the smallest and youngest towns in the State of Connecticut. Located near the heart of the Naugatuck Valley, the Naugatuck River, and High Rock State Park, the town offers passive recreation opportunities such as hiking, kayaking, and traditional New England scenic views.
The small New England town of Bethel, formed in 1855, is located in northern Fairfield County. Bethel lies sixty miles northeast of New York City and fifty miles southwest of Hartford and is accessed by state routes 6, 53, and 58 and Interstate 84. Its neighboring towns are Redding, Danbury, Brookfield and Newtown.
Located in beautiful Litchfield County, Bethlehem is Connecticut's "Christmas Town". The town's religious history includes the founding of the first theological seminary in the country and the sermons of the Rev. Joseph Bellamy. His home stands as proudly today as it did in the 18th century - the Bellamy-Ferriday House and Garden. Bethlehem is also the home of the Regina Laudis Monastery and its exquisite museum quality, 18th century Neapolitan Crèche. The late Lauren Ford, Bethlehem resident who took the co-foundresses of the Abbey into her home when they arrived in Bethlehem, is internationally known for her religious artwork. Each year the Bethlehem Post Office processes thousands of Christmas cards that may be hand-stamped with special Christmas cachets and mailed with the Bethlehem post mark. Since 1981, Bethlehem has held its annual Christmas Town Festival. The Town Green is the center of the festival, with the buildings and churches surrounding it decorated and brimming with holiday crafters and delicious food. It is with this spirit of joy that Bethelehem welcomes you to the little town of Bethlehem, CT.
In 1722 Samuel Clark, an original proprietor of New Milford, had a portion of his share of land surveyed in the southerly part of that town known as Shepaug Neck. Although this later became known as Bridgewater, it was not incorporated as a separate town until 1856. Among the earliest settlers was Joseph Treat, grandson of Robert Treat, a colonial governor of Connecticut. Others included the four sons of Jeremiah Canfield, Sr. Descendants of these families played a prominent role in the early history of the area. The first school district was established in 1758.
Early Bridgewater was divided into several districts, each having its own store, school, mills, and blacksmith and woodworking shops. Sheep were raised and tobacco grown. Dairy farming developed in the 19th century. Hat making flourished 1823 to 1870, when Glover Sanford & Sons had a factory on Hat Shop Hill. For some years Bridgewater was the boyhood home of Captain William D. Burnham, founder of the American Hawaiian Steamship Company. His generous bequests made possible the library and the school on Main Street that bear his name. The town was also the birthplace and place of business of Charles B. Thompson, a leading pioneer in mail-order selling. Bridgewater today is largely residential.
Source: Bridgewater Historical Society and the Connecticut Historical Commission
Bristol, one of the largest cities in the state is situated in Central Connecticut, 20 miles southwest of Hartford with easy access to all major highways. It is a wonderfully diverse and family friendly community that offers a wide range of historical, entertainment, and dining opportunities.
Bristol's quality of life benefits from the 700 acres of beautiful parks, a high rated education system including two high schools with upgraded buildings and surrounding athletic fields, and an aggressive promotion of economic development that attracts reputable industry which in turn increases our grand list. The Bristol community is active in the arts, a wide range of sporting activities, and preserving our city’s rich history of architecture, revolutionary clock making, and general manufacturing.
In the 1700's Brookfield was an area of rich farm lands, forests filled with game and streams abundant with fish. It was called Newbury, a name derived from the three towns from which its land was taken (New Milford, Newtown, and Danbury). In 1778 the Town was incorporated. The name Newbury was changed to Brookfield in honor of the Reverend Thomas Brooks, who was still the minister. The first Town Meeting was held on June 9, 1788.
Brookfield is the home of 16,500 residents who have the good fortune to live in the beautiful rolling hills of western Connecticut. The two largest lakes in Connecticut border the Town, Candlewood Lake to the west and Lake Lillinonah to the east. The citizens of Brookfield enjoy outstanding recreational facilities and spectacular scenery. The Town has a wide variety of home styles and values, excellent schools and a vibrant commercial district.
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills, atop Johnnycake Mountain, Burlington, Connecticut is steeped in history and community. It boasts some of Connecticut's greatest natural beauty, forest, and watershed land that includes the most scenic stretch of the Farmington Valley Trail along the river. One of Burlington's precious treasures is the hundreds of acres of forest named Sessions Woods which hosts a vibrant learning center and a series of trails used by residents and visitors alike. While traveling thru the scenic hills of Burlington you will come across rustic barns, historical buildings, a spring-fed Fish Hatchery along with acres of open space which adds to our natural charm. Burlington truly is a gem of Connecticut.