At the intersection of Rte. 58 and Rte. 107, take Rte. 107 south to Redding. At this intersection you will find the entrance to the Museum at Putnam Park. Today visitors to the park can explore ruins of the Revolutionary War encampment as well as reconstructed buildings, huts and monuments. Research shows that there were 25 to 30 huts for officers and 116 huts accommodating 12 men per hut measuring16 ft. long by14 ft. wide by 6 feet high for the troops. The entrance to the park passes between two miniature blockhouses that are a symbol of the park. A 42- foot stone obelisk, made from native granite was erected in 1888 to commemorate the encampment. The Park's Museum displays objects from the encampment and ongoing excavations continue to discover new artifacts.
A dramatic bronze statue of General Putnam on his war steed created by Anna Hyatt Huntington presides over the park. The statue depicts General Putnam's daring escape from the British at Horseneck (now Greenwich). Surprised and outnumbered the General escaped by spurring his horse down a narrow stairway cut into a cliff shouting curses as bullets flew around him; one even passed through his hat. When the English Governor heard of the General's escape, he sent Putnam another hat for his courage.